Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (2023)

Jump to Recipe Print Recipe

These vegan oreo cookies are better than the real deal! Made with cacao powder, these cookies not only have great chocolate flavor, but they pack additional nutrients that store-bought oreos lack. This recipe is vegan, dairy-free, and made with wholesome ingredients which make them healthier than the traditional version and SO delicious.

Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (1)

These vegan oreos are a great dessert to make all-year-round. They are the perfect treat to make for parties or holidays, especially Halloween with their dark color!

This chocolate oreo recipe is inspired by these dairy free brownies, which is another amazing dessert recipe to try if you love chocolate and want something easy!

Jump to:
  • Oreo Ingredient List
  • Equipment Needed To Make Oreos
  • How To Make Vegan Oreos
  • How to Make Oreo Filling
  • Adding Oreo Filling to Cookies
  • Making Substitutions In The Oreos
  • Different Flavors of Oreos
  • Storing Homemade Oreos
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • More Vegan Dessert Recipes
  • Recipe
  • Vegan Oreos

Oreo Ingredient List

One of the best things about these vegan oreos is that you only need 10 ingredients to make the cookies! You no longer have to guess if store-bought oreos are vegan by deciphering the complicated nutrition facts and ingredients list. These homemade oreos are vegan and made with healthy ingredients that you can pronounce, and probably already have in your kitchen!

Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (2)

Ingredients For The Oreo Cookies:

  • flax egg: you can make a flax egg by combining one tablespoon of ground flax seed with three tablespoons water.
  • vegan butter: pretty much any vegan butter will work in this recipe, but some popular choices are Earth Balance, Pure Blends, or Country Crock.
  • coconut sugar: this is an unrefined sugar that tastes similar to brown sugar, but provides more nutrients and minerals.
  • vanilla extract: vanilla helps add a rich flavor to the oreos.
  • pure maple syrup: this acts as a liquid in the oreo recipe and provides some extra sweetness, too.
  • white whole wheat flour: whole wheat flours have a higher protein content than all-purpose and nut flours, which helps stablize the oreos and provide extra nutrients.
  • unsweetened cacao powder: cacao powder is the healthiest way to incorporate chocolate in baking. It has lots of flavonoids! You may also use dutch process cocoa powder for a darker colored cookie.
  • ground cinnamon: don't worry, these cookies don't taste like cinnamon oreos! The cinnamon adds more depth to the flavors by enhancing the chocolate flavor, but you can't taste cinnamon in the finished product.
  • baking soda: baking soda helps the oreos rise and thicken while baking.
  • salt: salt is crucial to balancing the flavors and giving the cookies a well-rounded taste.

Ingredients For The Oreo FIlling:

  • vegan butter: whip this on high speed to provide the structure for the cookie filling.
  • vegan powdered sugar: when combined with vegan butter, you get a delicious frosting!
  • non-dairy milk: any unsweetened non-dairy milk will do. This makes the frosting a little thinner and easier to spread between your oreo cookies.
  • vanilla extract: this adds nice flavor to the filling. Try experimenting with using maple, lemon, orange, or mint extract to create different flavors of oreos!
  • salt: salt is important to knock down the sweeteness in the filling. You can use more or less salt depending on how sweet you like your filling to be.
Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (3)

Equipment Needed To Make Oreos

Some baking equipment is mentioned throughout this recipe, but I'll clarify what you DO need and what you could go without.

  • Electric Mixer or Stand Mixer - You don't need both, but it's recommend you have at least one of these pieces of equipment in order to make the filling for the oreos. Being able to whip the frosting together on high speed is what makes the powdered sugar combine with the butter and give you the fluffy filling that you need.
  • Plastic Wrap - You need plastic wrap (Saran wrap) to wrap the dough for it to chill in the fridge. If you don't have plastic wrap, aluminum foil can also work, or as a last resort you can use parchment paper and tape to keep it wrapped in the fridge.
  • Cookie Sheet - This is a non-negotiable item for making the vegan oreos. You need this to bake the cookies on in the oven! I like using a large aluminum pan, but whatever oven-safe baking sheet you have at home should be fine.
  • Round Cookie Cutter - This is an optional item to use for shaping the cookies when they're freshly baked. You can "cut out" the oreos on the baking sheet to get rid of any oblong edges. But this is optional! Your oreo cookies will taste just as yummy even if they aren't perfect circles.

TIP: If you prefer not to have any food waste or extra cookie scraps, you can roll the chilled oreo dough on a lightly floured surface and use the cookie cutter to make circle shapes before baking instead of cutting the edges off after baking. Either way works! I end up eating the cut-off edges and that's another way to prevent food waste, haha!

How To Make Vegan Oreos

Even if you're a beginner baker, you can make these oreos. It doesn't take long to mix up the batter and the cookies only need 7 minutes in the oven!

STEP 1: Make flax egg. Flax eggs are super easy to make. Just mix one tablespoon ground flax seed with three tablespoons water. Stir it and then let it thicken for 5-10 minutes.

  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (4)
  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (5)
  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (6)

STEP 2: Cream butter and sugar. In a large bowl, mix together the vegan butter and coconut sugar. You can do this with an electric mixer, stand mixer, or vigorously by hand. Once smooth, mix in the flax egg, vanilla extract, and maple syrup.

STEP 3: Sift dry ingredients. Next, sift the flour into the bowl. Then sift the cacao powder, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Stir well to combine the mixtures. It will be thick and sticky.

STEP 4: Form dough. Use your hands to form the dough into a ball. To make things easier, you can spray a bit of cooking spray on your hands so the dough doesn't stick as much. Wrap the cookie dough in plastic saran wrap and place it in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill. This makes it easier to work with.

Do I have to chill cookie dough? I know chilling the dough can seem like a pain, especially if you're in a hurry. Chilling the dough allows the flour to hydrate and ingredients to fully incorporate. It thickens the dough, making it easier to work with, and makes the flavors stronger. Don't skip this step, or your cookies may spread too much in the oven and become too flat.

  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (7)
  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (8)

STEP 5: Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper. After your dough has chilled for 30 minutes, scoop dough about the size of a robin's egg (about 1.5 tablespoons) and roll into a ball with your hands. Place dough on the cookie sheet about 2 inches apart and gently press on the dough to flatten it into a circle shape.

STEP 6: Bake cookies for 7-8 minutes. Let them stand on the pan for 5 minutes to set up and harden. This is important or else they will break! For perfectly shaped cookies, use a small 1.5 or 2-inch circular cookie cutter to remove any imperfect edges while the cookies are still warm. After 5+ minutes, transfer the oreo cookies to a cooling rack.

TIP: Homemade oreos are softer and more delicate compared to the oreos you may be used to. Be gentle with the cookies, especially when they're just baked and haven't set up yet.

How to Make Oreo Filling

Oreos wouldn't be oreos without the filling inside! Luckily, this vegan filling is super easy to make and only takes a few minutes to whip up.

  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (9)
  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (10)
  • Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (11)

STEP 1: Whip vegan butter. In a medium bowl, beat vegan butter with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until light and fluffy.

STEP 2: Add vegan powdered sugar.In small increments, add the vegan powdered sugar to the butter and mix on low-medium speed to incorporate.

STEP 3: Add vanilla extract and salt. Mix on medium-high speed until your filling is smooth and fluffy.

TIP: Oreos come in so many flavors, and there is a super easy way to make different kinds of oreos with this recipe. Try using different flavor extracts like mint, orange, lemon, or maple extract instead of vanilla to flavor the filling and make different types of vegan oreos!

Adding Oreo Filling to Cookies

Getting to this step means you're almost done making the vegan oreos! Woohoo! This step is pretty self-explanatory, but I've provided some helpful tips to ensure the filling process goes easily for you.

Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (12)

To fill the cookies, gently spoon a dollop of frosting onto the bottom of a cooled cookie. REMEMBER: The cookies must be cool before you add the filling, or else the cookies may break and the filling could melt. Use the back of the spoon or your fingers to spread the frosting evenly around the cookie.

Then add a second cookie on top of the filling and squish it together to make an oreo sandwich. You should have enough frosting to fill about 15 oreos. The filling in this recipe is quite sweet, so you don't need to make the filling very thick between the oreo cookies.

Making Substitutions In The Oreos

If you don't have all the ingredients on hand for this recipe, there are a few substitutions you can easily make instead of running to the store.

  • Cacao Powder - If you don't have cacao powder, I recommend using dutch process cocoa powder. Cocoa powder might not have as strong of a chocolate flavor, however, and has less nutritional benefits compared to cacao powder.
  • Flax Egg - If you don't want to use a flax egg, you can use a chia egg the same way. Just add one tablespoon chia seeds with three tablespoons water. If you aren't vegan, you can use one chicken's egg in this recipe, but the results might be slightly different, so use caution.
  • Coconut Sugar - If you don't have coconut sugar, you can use white granulated sugar instead.
  • White Whole Wheat Flour - You can also use red whole wheat flour (labeled as "whole wheat flour,") or all-purpose flour in this recipe. You want to stay away from using almond or coconut flours because they do not have the stability to hold the oreo cookies together.
  • Vegan Butter - "Real butter," made with dairy, is a fine substitution in this recipe if you aren't vegan. You will still get good results.

Please don't try to make more than one substitution in the recipe, because I can't guarantee successful results if you try to change too much. Each recipe on this site is carefully crafted and tested multiple times to ensure it turns out perfectly for you. If you attempt to change too many ingredients, you might end up with wonky cookies!

If you have questions about what you can and can't substitute in these vegan oreos, please ask in the comments below this post or send me a message on Instagram so I can offer some guidance before you bake!

Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (13)

Different Flavors of Oreos

Something fun about this vegan oreo recipe is the ability to make different flavors so easily! Making the recipe as written results in "original" oreos with vanilla creme filling. Try these variations to switch things up or make special flavored oreos for certain holidays!

  • Mint Oreos - To make vegan mint oreos, use 1-2 teaspoons mint extract in place of vanilla extract in the filling. For a stronger mint flavor, add 1 teaspoon mint extract to the cookie dough!
  • Lemon Oreos - To make lemon oreos, add 1-2 teaspoons of lemon juice and 1-2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the filling. You may have to add an additional 2-3 tablespoons of powdered sugar to keep the filling thick. For lemon oreo cookies instead of chocolate oreos, omit the cacao powder and add an additional ⅓ cup flour.
  • Maple Oreos - For the best maple and chocolate oreo combination, add 1 teaspoon maple extract to the oreo dough and 1-2 teaspoons maple extract the filling. This is such a cozy and delicious combination in the fall!
  • Pumpkin Oreos - The perfect vegan oreos for Halloween and fall months, you can make pumpkin oreos by adding 2-3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice to the filling. This will give them such a great spice flavor!

Let me know what you think if you try different flavors. The options are endless with this vegan oreo recipe and that's what makes them so fun (and delicious)!

Storing Homemade Oreos

Store the vegan oreos in an airtight container in the fridge for 3-5 days. I bet you they won't last that long in your house, though! It's best not to freeze the oreos. The filling may not stand up to freezing very well, and it will be difficult to thaw them. These vegan cookies taste best fresh!

Vegan Oreos | Savor The Spoonful (14)

Frequently Asked Questions

There are many popular questions about oreos and whether or not they fit within certain diets. I've attempted to answer some of these questions for you.

Are oreos vegan?

While oreos don't contain dairy or eggs, the type of sugar used in oreos isn't specifed. White sugar is processed using bone char from animals, which means oreos might not be vegan after all. Some variations of oreos contain honey, which is not vegan-friendly, either.

Is the sugar in oreos vegan?

Refined sugars don't have any animal products in them, but many are processed using bone char in manufacturing. You can't know for sure whether oreos are 100% vegan due to the ambiguity in their manufacturing process.

Are oreos gluten free?

No, oreos are not gluten free. Most varieties of oreos contain wheat (gluten), which makes them unsafe for those with gluten sensitivities. Try finding specified gluten-free oreos with the GFCO certification if you have this dietary restriction.

Do oreos have eggs?

No, oreos do not have eggs in the ingredients list. This vegan oreo recipe uses a flax egg which helps bind the ingredients together and add some extra protein, fiber, and healthy Omega 3's to your oreo cookies.

Are oreos dairy free?

Oreos do not have dairy listed as an ingredient, but they are manufactured in a facility containing dairy. If you have a dairy allergy, this is something to keep in mind.

Are oreos healthy?

Oreos are not a healthy food. Oreos contain lots of sugar, palm and canola oil, high fructose corn syrup, and "artificial flavors," which makes them extremely processed and high in calories, fat, and carbs. This vegan oreo recipe is a healthier alternative made with wholesome ingredients that you can pronounce-- and NO corn syrup!

What are the ingredients in the oreo filling?

In this recipe, the oreo filling is made with vegan butter, vegan powdered sugar, pure vanilla extract, and salt. This is much healthier than store-bought oreos which contain high fructose corn syrup, palm oil, and artificial flavors in the filling.

What's the difference between cacao powder and cocoa powder?

Cacao powder and cocoa powder are processed differently. Cacao powder is minimally processed and retains many of the nutritional benefit it contains, whereas cocoa powder is highly processed and typically mixed with added sugars and artificial flavors. Use cacao powder in these vegan oreos for the best chocolate flavor and nutritional benefits.

I don't work at the oreo factory, so I really can't say with 100% certainty whether oreos are vegan or not. But what I CAN say with certainty is that this vegan oreo recipe is DEFINITELY vegan! Not to mention delicious, too.

More Vegan Dessert Recipes

If you love these oreos or if you're looking for more vegan dessert recipes, I got you! Check out these delicious recipes for the best vegan baking:

Apple Vegan Cake

This vegan apple bundt cake is naturally sweetened with applesauce and maple syrup. It is full of cinnamon and apple spice flavors, making it a perfect cake for fall. This vegan cake is made with healthy ingredients and makes a great Halloween or Thanksgiving dessert to share with friends, family, and kids, even if they aren't vegan!

Check Out This Recipe

Vegan Pumpkin Banana Bread

This super moist vegan pumpkin banana bread is healthy and super easy to make at home. It is an eggless pumpkin bread with sweet hints of banana flavor and plenty of fall spices. Mix in chopped walnuts and vegan chocolate chips for a bite that you can't resist!

Check Out This Recipe

Vegan Lemon Raspberry Jam Filled Cupcakes

These vegan lemon raspberry jam filled cupcakes have a vegan lemon cupcake base with raspberry jam filling inside. They are topped with vegan raspberry buttercream frosting and packed with flavor. They taste just like raspberry lemonade cupcakes and are so easy to make. Perfect for Valentine's Day!

Check Out This Recipe

Vegan Carrot Cake Oatmeal

This vegan carrot cake oatmeal is full of warm spices that give such a cozy flavor to start the morning off well. Super filling and super delicous, you can't go wrong with this healthy dessert breakfast!

Check Out This Recipe

If you've made any of my recipes, please consider leaving a review in the comments. I love hearing how you liked them. Even better, post a photo and tag me on Instagram or send me a message sharing your bake! With that, I'll leave you with the recipe. Enjoy!


Vegan Oreos

These oreos are vegan, dairy-free, and made with healthy ingredients like organic cacao powder for the best chocolate flavor you’ll love. They're better than the real deal!

5 from 11 votes

Print Recipe Pin Recipe

Prep Time 15 minutes mins

Cook Time 15 minutes mins

Chill Time 30 minutes mins

Total Time 1 hour hr

Course Dessert

Cuisine American

Servings 15 oreo sandwiches

Calories 236 kcal


  • Cookie Sheet

  • Circle Cookie Cutter (Optional)


Wet Ingredients

  • 1 flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flax seed + 3 tablespoons water)
  • ½ cup vegan butter room temperature, soft
  • cup coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ cup white whole wheat flour (or all-purpose)
  • cup unsweetened cacao powder (can also use dutch cocoa powder)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt


  • ½ cup vegan butter
  • 1 cup vegan powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon non-dairy milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon salt



  • In a small bowl, stir together 1 tablespoon ground flax seed with 3 tablespoons water. Let stand for 5-10 minutes to thicken. This is the flax egg.

    1 flax egg

  • In a large bowl, mix together the vegan butter and coconut sugar with an electric or stand mixer or vigorously by hand. Once combined and smooth, add in the flax egg, vanilla extract, and maple syrup. Stir until well combined.

    1 flax egg, ½ cup vegan butter, ⅔ cup coconut sugar, 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • Sift the flour, cacao powder, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt into the bowl of wet ingredients. Stir until the batter is combined. It will be thick and sticky.

    1 ¼ cup white whole wheat flour, ⅓ cup unsweetened cacao powder, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, ½ teaspoon baking soda, ¼ teaspoon salt

  • Use your hands to form the dough into a ball. Wrap in plastic saran wrap or aluminum foil and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill. This makes it easier to work with.

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and grease a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray. Scoop dough the size of a robin's egg and roll into a ball with your hands. Place on the cookie sheet and gently press on the dough to flatten it into a circle shape.

  • Bake for 7-8 minutes. Let stand on the pan for 5 minutes to set up and harden. For perfectly shaped cookies, use a 2-inch circular cookie cutter to remove any imperfect edges while the cookies are warm. Transfer to a cooling rack before filling.


  • In a medium bowl, beat vegan butter with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Add in vegan powdered sugar in small increments at a time and blend together. Then add the vanilla extract, plant milk, and salt. Mix again until the frosting is well-combined and fluffy.

    1 teaspoon vanilla extract, ½ cup vegan butter, 1 cup vegan powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon non-dairy milk, ¼ teaspoon salt

  • To fill the cookies, gently spoon a dollop of frosting on the bottom of a cookie. Use the spoon or your fingers to spread the frosting evenly on the cookie. Then add a second cookie on top and squish together to flatten into an oreo sandwich.


These cookies are soft and delicate, so be careful when handling them when they're freshly baked.

Consider adding other flavor extracts to the filling to make different flavored oreos. Try adding mint, orange, lemon, or maple extract instead of vanilla for a different flavor!

Pin Recipe


How are Oreos accidentally vegan? ›

Oreos were not always vegan

In the early twentieth century, they were made with lard (pig fat). It was only in the mid-1990s, over concerns about the healthfulness of animal fat, that Nabisco, Oreo's parent company, decided to replace lard with partially hydrogenated vegetable oil.

Which Oreo flavors are vegan? ›

Thins aside, the current line up of vegan Oreo flavors include Mint, Lemon, Dark Chocolate, Chocolate Hazelnut, Java Chip, Chocolate, Birthday Cake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, Peanut Butter, and Caramel Coconut.

Are Oreos actually vegan? ›

Oreos have been a dairy-free and vegan treat since they first launched. Despite the creamy center filling, the cookie contains no milk. With the exception of a few flavors that contain some animal ingredients like honey, most Oreos are vegan.

Are cinnamon bun Oreos vegan? ›

Yup. The list goes on and on. Even the seemingly un-vegan flavors are vegan, like: chocolate marshmallow Oreos, caramel coconut Oreos, red velvet Oreos, brownie batter Oreos, cookie dough Oreos, cinnamon bun Oreos, and ice cream Oreos.

Are Takis vegan? ›

Not all Takis flavors are vegan, as they contain animal ingredients, like milk or whey, in the recipe. But there are plenty of options that are totally animal-free. The original Fuego flavor, for example, which tastes like hot chili pepper and lime, is vegan.

When did Oreos become vegan? ›

In the mid-1990s, Nabisco was prompted to change the lard to partially hydrogenated vegetable oil. In 2006, the partially hydrogenated vegetable oil was then replaced with non-hydrogenated vegetable oil. In 2013 the whey powder was removed, and finally, in 2014, Oreos were vegan in the US.

Are Trader Joe's Oreos vegan? ›

Just like the original, Trader Joe's version of the Oreo sandwich cookie is also vegan (with the exception of the gluten-free Joe Joe's, which contains egg). While the original satisfies a sweet tooth, the seasonal flavors are truly something to look forward to.

What candy is vegan? ›

Vegan Candy
  • Charms Blow Pops.
  • Chick-O-Stick.
  • Dum Dums.
  • Fireballs.
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candies.
  • Pez.
  • Smarties.

Are Skittles vegan? ›

Most types of Skittles are considered vegan, but not all. While Skittles Classic Fruits, Skittles Sour, Skittles Tropical and Wild Berry Skittles are all currently suitable for vegans, some special editions such as the Once in a Blue Moon Skittles are not, as the blue skittles contain animal product derivatives.

Are Pringles vegan? ›

So, Are Pringles Vegan? Yes, the Pringle chip itself is vegan. The vegans start having problems when the chips are flavored, as most flavorings contain dairy products like lactose, whey, and cheddar cheese cultures.

Why sugar is not vegan? ›

Because refined sugars made from sugarcane require bone char to achieve a clear white colour, most refined cane sugars are unsuitable for vegans. Some types of brown sugar also involve using bone char, such as those that are created by adding molasses to refined cane sugar to achieve the brown colour.

Is Oreo popcorn vegan? ›

No, Cookie Pop Popcorn Oreo Snack Pop is not vegan.

Is carrot cake Oreos vegan? ›

But all Oreo flavors are made with vegan-friendly ingredients, including Mint, Golden Birthday Cake, Carrot Cake, Peanut Butter, and Dark Chocolate.

Are Oreo eggs vegan? ›

Milk chocolate with vanilla flavour filling (34 %) and biscuit pieces (4.8 %). Suitable for vegetarians.

What is a junk vegan? ›

What is a Junk Food Vegan? A junk food vegan is a vegan who regularly consumes highly processed foods that are primarily made in science labs. Some popular choices are the famous Oreo biscuits as well as a variety of vegan “cheeses.”

What food is truly vegan? ›

On a vegan diet, you can eat foods made from plants, including:
  • Fruits and vegetables.
  • Legumes such as peas, beans, and lentils.
  • Nuts and seeds.
  • Breads, rice, and pasta.
  • Dairy alternatives such as soymilk, coconut milk, and almond milk.
  • Vegetable oils.

Are any donuts accidentally vegan? ›

Surprisingly, there are actually a few different types of accidentally vegan doughnuts! Most long-time vegans know about Co-op accidentally vegan doughnuts but you might not know about some of the others. Here are the ones I could find: Co-op custard and jam doughnuts.

Are Doritos vegan? ›

All Doritos are made from ground corn and mixed with salt and sunflower oil or vegetable oils, so the base tortilla chips Doritos are, fortunately, 100 percent vegan.

Are Cheetos vegan? ›

Unfortunately, no, Hot Cheetos are not suitable for a vegan diet. Cheetos are perhaps most well known for their intense cheesy flavor, which is present in all of their different varieties including the Flamin' Hot line. Unfortunately, cheese is not vegan, since it is a dairy product that comes from cows.

Are starburst vegan? ›

Yes, Starburst are indeed vegan! Though deliciously chewy, it is free from gelatin which used to be a culprit in its ingredient list until several years ago.

Are Twizzlers vegan? ›

Candies with a toothy texture often contain gelatin, a byproduct of the beef and pork industries. But lucky for vegans, Twizzlers do not contain gelatin or other animal products.

Is honey vegan? ›

Honey is by definition not vegan, since it a bee product, and bees are animals. Here's a nuanced article about how the ethical issues surrounding this sweetener fit into the broader concept of vegan living.

Are pretzels vegan? ›

Made with flour, lye, yeast and typically less water than soft pretzels, traditional hard pretzels and most hard pretzel snacks are vegan-friendly.

Is Hydrox vegan? ›

So you replaced cream and milk products the same way Oreo did. Our recipe has always been vegan. Recently we obtained our official vegan certification but there has been no change to the recipe :) I'm waiting patiently.

Do vegans eat hummus? ›

Yes, it's almost, always is suitable for vegans. Hummus is a vegan staple that allows you to have some versatility in your diet. It's an immensely popular food amongst vegans so you may have found a new favourite yourself.

Does vegan mean no dairy? ›

By the most traditional definition, vegan food includes no dairy. That's because vegan foods have no substances derived from animals in them, and since the dawn of time (or at least since the dawn of cows, sheep, and goats) dairy has always been derived from animals.

Are M&M's vegan? ›

Milk chocolate is made with skim milk, lactose, and milkfat meaning that M&Ms contain dairy and are not vegan.

Are Tootsie Rolls vegan? ›

Based on the ingredients provided on the Tootsie Roll website, the “Original Classic Tootsie Roll” contains multiple milk-based ingredients. These include both Condensed Skim Milk and Whey. As both of these products are animal-derived, Tootsie Rolls are NOT vegan.

Are Tootsie Tarts vegan? ›

Unfortunately, the answer is no. Tootsie Fruit Chews contain gelatin, a non-vegan ingredient derived from animal collagen. What is this? Additionally, the artificial flavors and colors, hydrogenated oil, and corn syrup which all may contain animal products.

Are Jolly Ranchers vegan? ›

Jolly Rancher gummies, fruit chews, and gummy sweets contain gelatin and dairy milk, which is why it is excluded from the vegan diet—the same with Jolly rancher crunch. Jolly Rancher Misfits and Jolly Rancher bites are the only two classified as vegan.

Is Sour Patch Kids vegan? ›

The simple answer to the question 'Are sour patch kids vegan? ' is no. Sour Patch Kids are not vegan in the UK as the ingredients still contain gelatine. However, in the US, Sour Patch Kids do not contain gelatine, so keep an eye on the ingredients list of every pack just to be sure.

Are gummy bears vegan? ›

The short answer is no, gummy bears are not vegan! The long answer is, no, gummy bears are not vegan, they aren't even vegetarian! Gummy bears use gelatin which is made from animal bones. It is most often made by boiling animal bones, but skins, tendons and ligaments can also be used and boiled too.

Are sunchips vegan? ›

Only one flavor of Sunchips is currently acceptable for vegans: The Original flavor. Original Sunchips do however contain some ingredients that may be an issue for strict vegans. These ingredients are sugar and natural flavor. Sugar in packaged products in the United States is often processed with bone char.

Is Gatorade vegan? ›

PETA officially lists Gatorade as a vegan beverage, so that gives reassurance to many vegans. There are no animal products or by-products added to Gatorade.

Are the McDonald's chips vegan? ›

The fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal. Once at the restaurant, our fries are simply cooked in dedicated frying vats in a non-hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil which is 100 percent suitable for vegans.

Are Ritz crackers vegan? ›

Yes – it turns out that Ritz Crackers are one of those surprising vegan foods! You'd be wise to be sceptical as there's literally an image of cheese on the box, but maybe the designers at Ritz intended it to be interpreted at a nice cashew-cheddar.

Why is ketchup not vegan? ›

While not an animal product in itself, many vegans consider sugar in ketchup to be non-vegan-friendly, as many white and brown sugars are filtered and bleached using animal bone char. Heating cow bones to a high temperature until they break down into carbon creates bone char or activated carbon.

Is Coca Cola vegan? ›

Products that are suitable for vegans: Coke Classic, Coke Vanilla, Diet Coke, Coke Zero, Coke No Sugar, Fanta Orange, Fanta Jelly Fizz, Sprite, Powerade, Powerade Zero, Lift, Appletiser & Grapetiser, Coke Raspberry, Fanta Passionfruit Cream.

Which pop secret is vegan? ›

Vegan-friendly Snack: Pop Secret Popcorn

There are eight vegan options available, including 94% fat-free Kettle Corn, Sea Salt, Sweet' n Crunchy Kettle Corn, Pumpkin Spice, Kidz First Order Kettle Corn, Sweet' n Crunchy Caramel, Popfetti, and Sea Salt Kettle Corn.

Is Oreo yogurt vegan? ›

Suitable for Vegetarians. May Contain: Nuts. Contains: Milk, Soya, Wheat.

Are Oreo twists vegan? ›

Suitable for Vegetarians. May Contain: Milk. Contains: Soya, Wheat.

Is Lemon Oreo vegan? ›

Thins aside, the current line up of vegan Oreo flavors include Mint, Lemon, Dark Chocolate, Chocolate Hazelnut, Java Chip, Chocolate, Birthday Cake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, Peanut Butter, and Caramel Coconut.

Are pumpkin spice Oreos vegan? ›

Pumpkin Spice Oreos

And yes, they're accidentally dairy-free and vegan!

Are Snickerdoodle Oreos vegan? ›

Are Snickerdoodle Oreos vegan? Sadly, no. These limited edition Oreos contain confectioner's glaze.

What chocolate is vegan friendly? ›

High-quality dark chocolate is a great option for vegans. Look for chocolate with a cacao content of 50% or more. The higher cacao percentage indicates a higher chocolate content.

Why do Oreos say may contain milk? ›

This is due to the possibility of milk cross-contamination arising from dairy products that are used within the factory. Therefore, the manufacturers have to advise that traces of dairy may be found in Oreos.

Do Oreos still use palm oil? ›

Do Oreo Cookies contain palm oil? Another controversial ingredient that still remains in these cookies is palm oil, which many vegans try to avoid. Palm oil is plant-based but the majority is produced unsustainably.

Why do Oreos not absorb almond milk? ›

Why Don't Oreos Get Soggy In Almond Milk. There are a few reasons why Oreos don't get soggy in almond milk. The first reason is that Oreos are made with a lot of sugar and fat, which prevents them from getting soggy. The second reason is that Oreos have a lot of air in them, which also prevents them from getting soggy.

What foods are surprisingly not vegan? ›

13 Surprising Foods You Think Are Vegan But Aren't
  • Chocolate. Cocoa itself is vegan, but sometimes milk or milk products are added-even to dark chocolate. ...
  • Beer and wine. ...
  • Candy. ...
  • Sugar. ...
  • Non-dairy creamers. ...
  • Red foods. ...
  • Worcestershire sauce. ...
  • Veggie burgers.
Sep 11, 2022

What candies are vegan PETA? ›

Fortunately, loads of candies are vegan, so we can indulge our cravings (mostly) guilt-free. Most dark chocolate is vegan, as are popular sweet treats such as Smarties (known as Rockets in Canada), Oreos, Airheads, Jujubes, and Swedish Fish (some Swedish Fish contain beeswax, so be sure to check the label).

Are Girl Scout Cookies still made with palm oil? ›

But Mellor said the Scouts have made changes about palm oil. Their corporate bakers pledge to use sustainably sourced palm, though critics say unsustainable oil still likely finds its way into the supply chain. It's a hard ingredient to just not use. It tastes good and keeps the cookies crispy.

Why don t vegans eat palm oil? ›

Palm oil is made from palm, which is a vegetable product, and while the oil is technically vegan in that it contains no direct animal products, its environmental impact is often the reason why many vegans choose to steer clear of this oil.

Did Nutella stop using palm oil? ›

The palm oil in Nutella® is carefully treated during processing, making it perfectly safe to ingest. The palm oil we use in Nutella® is 100% RSPO certified sustainable palm oil and can be traced back to the mills, guaranteeing that it does not come from plantations subject to deforestation.

Why is it so hard to stop eating Oreos? ›

“Our research supports the theory that high-fat/high-sugar foods stimulate the brain in the same way that drugs do,” Schroeder told the Connecticut College News. “It may explain why some people can't resist these foods despite the fact that they know they are bad for them.”

Does microwaving Oreos make them soft? ›

If you microwave the Oreo for a short time, it will become slightly warm, and the chocolate will start to melt. The cookie will become softer, and you may even taste a bit of the cream filling.

Why do Oreos increase breast milk? ›

Theory #1: Oreos May Increase Oxytocin To Help Milk Supply

What is this? So, if Oreos make you feel extra relaxed, it's possible that this could stimulate your milk to be letdown more quickly because of the release of Oxytocin.


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Aron Pacocha

Last Updated: 02/11/2023

Views: 5706

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Aron Pacocha

Birthday: 1999-08-12

Address: 3808 Moen Corner, Gorczanyport, FL 67364-2074

Phone: +393457723392

Job: Retail Consultant

Hobby: Jewelry making, Cooking, Gaming, Reading, Juggling, Cabaret, Origami

Introduction: My name is Aron Pacocha, I am a happy, tasty, innocent, proud, talented, courageous, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.